Are you ready for the DUST?
A common misconception regarding the playa is that it's a sandy desert. This isn't the case; actually, the playa is a dried-up lake bed made of alkali dust. It's as light as talcum powder and, aside from the occasional smooth black stone, entirely uninterrupted. It doesn't support life. There are no snakes or lizards, or even bugs. Any life you see of this sort came in with the Burners - in calm-weather years flies and the like will make the migration across the playa to take advantage of the city.
The Jack Rabbit Speaks newsletter states that this is the dustiest year the crews have seen in, well, ever. There was little-to-no rain on the playa this summer, and the top layer of playa dust is quite loose. Once we all start moving around out there, and the wind kicks up, we'll be looking at a airborne dust - i.e. - dust storms.
Pretty much NOTHING is safe from the dust. I've heard Burning Man virgins discussing how to "dust proof" their tent/wardrobe/etc. Go ahead and remove that term from your vocabulary. There's no such thing as dust proof. It's so light-weight that it gets into everything, including YOU.
Go ahead and start accepting it now. Many folks will not prepare in this way. They'll think nothing of it, get out there, get covered, and freak out. And "early exodus" is probably in the works this year; many people will decide they can't handle the conditions and leave early. It'll be interesting to see how the demographics of BRC change throughout the week.
There's a lot you can do to prepare for the dust:
Your Camp:
Wear work gloves during set-up and break-down, while mooping, or dealing with your bike. It will keep your hands much happier and that's no bad thing!
Secure your camp! Regular tent stakes aren't going to work in deep, loose dust. You're going to need rebar; 12" at least, but this year I'd go longer. Make sure you cap your rebar so it's not a danger to others. Rope everything in VERY securely. The extra effort up front will pay off when your tent stays where you put it all week.
You will not be able to keep the dust out of your tent. If you have a fancy tent that's mostly screen walls with the fly covering it (instead of zip-up windows with covers) it's going to get even dustier. RV's and cars aren't dust-proof either. Be prepared to clean the shit out of your vehicle afterwards - especially if it's a rental.
This means that you might end up sleeping with your mask and goggles on. During the day, the dust storms can cool things off a bit simply by blocking out the sun, so if you can sleep with all the stuff strapped to your head it's not a bad time to take a nap.
Zippers will get cruded up with the dust and stop working. You can spray them down with a vinegar & water mix and that should get them moving again. It's a good idea to have a jug of plain white vinegar on hand - vinegar is like kryptonite to the alkali-based dust and will, for the most part, clean the playa dust off of stuff (including your body) better than plain water or even soap can do.
It's a good idea to pack up your sleeping stuff (sleeping bag, linens, pillows) when you're not using them. A big blanket bin or even a trash bag would work to keep (most of) the dust off of it. Trust me, it's no fun to climb into your tent all worn-out after a long night of dancing, just to find everything in it coated in an inch of tenacious playa-dust. You can also drape a painter's drop cloth or shower curtain over everything in the tent to keep it covered, then just pull that out and shake it out.
Some folks I know don't even bother with a tent. They sleep on a tarp, roll up their bedding and pack it up when they're not using it. I get cold easily so I need something to keep the body heat contained, but sometimes the dust does seem to make it more trouble than it's worth!
Personal Gear:
You absolutely MUST HAVE a dust mask and goggles.
There are several different types of dust masks:
Those little paper dusk masks are pretty useless during a real dust storm, though they might be good to have on hand if you're dealing with a light-dust situation and just need a little coverage. If it's all you've got, at least cover it with a bandanna or scarf - wetting the cloth cover helps even more.
The big plastic/rubber dust masks with the fancy, replaceable filters work great for keeping the dust out. It's also a good idea to have one of these on hand, just in case we experience Condition Alpha. However, for day-to-day playa use, I find those to be too cumbersome. They're really hot and sweaty, they're hard to pull out of the way to take a drink, and it's hard to be heard through them when you're speaking. I've also noticed that, for some reason, they cause bad breath.
I recommend using the neoprene style masks used by dirt bikers. They're easy to pack down, lightweight, and easy to talk through or even run a Camelbak hose under. Plus, they come in different colors and designs - bonus! Do have a couple of extra filters on hand, too, in case the first ones get too dusty. The "NeoMask" brand even comes with ear plugs - added bonus gear!
RZmask.com has really cool designs and you can use "BM15" in the coupon box to get 15%! Don't forget to get extra filters!
Not all goggles are made the same, either. The most important thing about your goggles is that they don't have open vents and that they fit your face.
I had a fancy pair of Bobster dirt-biking goggles that were great; three interchangeable lenses in smoky, amber, and clear, plus they had a good strap and were pretty stylish. Only problem was that they were too big for my face and there was a gap right over the bridge of my nose. Wind would shoot playa dust right into my eyeballs at certain angles. Ouch! I gifted those to a friend without goggles in 2009.
In '09 I was using a fancy pair of swim goggles. They were cute and kept the dust completely out - plus they didn't cause a gap when coupled with my mask. Otherwise, they weren't too comfortable. They stuck to my face and left awful rings around my eyes. The lenses were smoky and I couldn't see well at night (proven by the fact that I almost ran straight into a large metal giraffe while cruising on my bike). The strap tangled in my hair... Ugh.
In 2011 I bought a cheap pair of pink party goggles (raver style) with big, white cushions around the bases. Though cheap, these have been the most comfortable goggles yet. They were vented, but I covered the inside of the vent with a piece of duct tape and then filled each hole with glow-in-the-dark puff paint. Voila! The only trouble with these is that the big cushion and the wide lens does cause a gap when wearing them with my mask, so I cover that with a scarf or a bandanna.
Lots of folks use snowboarding goggles as well - they need to have the vents filled, but otherwise I imagine they work great! Do keep in mind that shaded sunglass-style lenses will do you no good if it's storming at night; you'll be effectively blinded. Get two sets, one with shade and one without, a pair with exchangeable lenses, or one pair with clear lenses and depend on your hat to keep the sun off your eyes.
If you wear glasses or contacts, bring a new pair of disposable contacts for each day. There are companies that make goggles that can be worn over glasses. Or, if you have the money, you can order prescription-lens goggles.
Floss and Q-tips are a must. The dust will get in your teeth and ears (and every other part of you) and it's really really nice to be able to clean it out occasionally. A touch of hand sanitizer on a Q-tip can feel like a full spa service when your ears are particularly dirty.
Scarves and bandannas are great to keep on hand. I have two long, lightweight scarves made of jersey-knit cotton. I wrap them around my head, ears, mask, and neck when it's storming and it helps maintain my sanity. In '08 I had a bit of a playa-breakdown because I really, really wanted to wash my hair and it just wasn't going to happen with all the dust storms going on. I started wearing a headscarf during the storms and it significantly helped my attitude. In '09 I met a wonderful woman at Center Camp having the exact same breakdown; I gifted her the scarf off of my own head and it seemed to help her adjust. Little things like that can make a big difference; be thinking about what helps you feel more comfortable and make sure you have that on you at all times.
You might be a lucky Burner and have access to a shower. Or you might not. Either way, bring a LOT of baby wipes (but please don't throw them in the potties!) You'll need them to clean up yourself and possibly other items that you want do partially de-dust. Remember, you won't be able to completely clean ANYTHING once you're on the playa. Dust has become a consistent part of your world. You'll be covered in it even after you return to the default world until you get all your gear cleaned up.
Feet and Hands:
Sometimes I see folks going barefoot on the playa, and all I can think is that they must be out of their minds. Playa dust is alkaline, which means it's like salt. It literally EATS things - your feet and hands especially. There's a dust-related injury called "playa foot" that affects people who don't care for their feet. The soft skin between the toes dries out and cracks, and can bleed. The callused part of the foot starts to look shredded and it's generally pretty nasty looking and uncomfortable. You want to avoid this!
Bring more socks than you ever think you will use. I change socks 2-3 times a day.
We do daily foot baths. Vinegar or Dr. Bronner's and water are great for foot baths. Clean your feet, then moisturize the hell out of them. We have a giant bottle of cocoa butter in camp and use it to liberally coat our feet after each foot bath. I put socks on before it finishes drying to keep the moisture in.
A good oil-and-salt scrub is also useful; I get the lavender oil version from Trader Joe's. This is especially good to have post-Burn because your hands will be in rough shape after you tear down your camp. The salt helps rub off the loose, shredded dry skin around your nails and thumb. It's also nice to use it on feet.
Keep a bottle of lotion in your daypack; Trader Joe's has small yellow tubes of shea butter hand lotion that's nice and thick... I've already got several tubes stashed in various spots in my gear pile.
Clothes and Costumes:
It's super energizing to look and feel fabulous (whatever your version of that is) while surfing through a serious dust storm. However, it's important to choose styles and materials appropriate to the playa.
Synthetic fabrics for the most part do much better in the dust. Cotton tends to absorb it and get very faded-looking and dirty. I love my vinyl pants - I can just wipe the playa off of them. Faux furs are popular because they're warm, snuggly, fun, and stay bright even in a brown-out.
Some clothing is not appropriate for the Burn. Steampunk is a popular style in BRC, and you'll see some elaborate, amazing Steampunk ensembles. I have a beautiful peacock-themed Steampunk gown with a belt-bustle and matching top hat. The dress is silk dupioni; the belt is suede, silk, lace, and peacock feathers. The hat is silk velvet. I'd LOVE to rock it at the steampunk parties and bars; but I don't bring it to Burning Man. Basically anything you can't wash in vinegar isn't a good bet, unless you're ok with it being dusty as hell forever and ever, amen. After time, the playa dust can and does destroy things. My bike, my cowboy hat, and my car are good testaments to this. I have a real Barma leather cowboy hat, and I wouldn't Burn without it (but I might sun burn without it). The leather has definitely aged much faster due to the playa. I have to clean it and brush oil into it post-Burn or it'll dry out and crack.
Make good decisions about what you bring to begin with and you'll have an easier time of it while you're there.
Shoes:
You really want a good pair of shoes - or several - while on-playa. I bring sneakers, cowboy boots, platform boots, and Teva-style sandals.
My oldest, most beat-up pair of sneakers go to the Burn. The shoelaces stop working sometime around day 2. I throw them out post-Burn.
The sandals are shoes for in-camp only; when it's hot and I'm just chilling, moving around in the small space before going out. I wash my feet after sandal-wearing sessions before putting on boots or sneakers.
Cowboy boots (I have Ariats, with the good sole and round toes) are the best shoes ever on the playa. Dust does get in them, but I can just wipe them out. Actually, my Rhinestone Cowgirl costume is one of my favorites when the dust is kickin'; go figure the cowboy clothing would be great for desert conditions.
I don't do high-heels when there's this much walking and biking travel, though some people can handle it. I do like a pair of platform boots with a zipper or straps instead of laces because they'll keep you a bit above the dust. A little added height is great in the crowds, too.
ZipLock is Your Friend:
Pack everything in ziplock bags, including your clothing. I put each complete outfit (including socks and underwear) in a single bag, press the air out it, and stick it in a bin. There's nothing so delightful as putting on a (momentarily) dust-free outfit. Plus, anything you don't wear doesn't need to be washed when you get home. I find that my tent even stays more organized when I pack like this.
Cameras and other electronics should also be packed in ziplock. Books as well - playa dust wrecks havoc on book bindings.
Lots of food items can be re-packed in ziplock bags, but I would also use a bin with a tight-fitting lid to stow your food. Always keep your food and drinks packed unless you're actively using them. Mmm... playa spice!
Finally, prep your mind!
Watch some videos of dust storms and white/brown-outs to get a feel for what you'll be dealing with out there. The more prepared you are mentally and emotionally, the easier it will be to rock out instead of freak out when it gets crazy dusty!
Here are some of my favorites:
Dust devil bitch-slaps a drum circle:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vpsr9FLzABw
Hat-chaser in the brown-out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzT2qyMZJ98
Deep Playa view of a brown-out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=8Tw9Dn2Lrz0
Some random footage of the playa while biking around:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MZIG7F9FhmM&feature=related


No comments:
Post a Comment